Laureate Awards

The National Fantasy Fan Federation Laureate Awards, have been awarded irregularly, often annually, since since 1941, for works from the previous year. The award categories fluctuate from year-to-year with new categories being added and old ones dropped according to nomination votes.

Year ReleasedCategoryRecipient
2017Best novelRyk Spoor Princess Holy Aura
Best Shorter WorkSarah Pinsker And Then There Were (N-One)
Best Book EditorToni Weisskopf
Best FilmThor Ragnarok
Best FanzineTightbeam
Best BlogMadGeniusClub
Best TV ShowSupergirl
Best AnimeThe Ancient Magus Bride
Best Graphic Art PublicationJean Grey
2016Best NovelBrandon Sanderson Shadows of Self
Best Paper Series NovelChris Nuttall Schooled in Magic
Best EditorToni Weisskopf – Baen
Best TV ShowSupergirl
Best ComicGirl Genius
Best FilmThe Martian
2015Heroic AchievementAll Hugo Fandom — for reviving the all-hobby fan feud
Best EditorToni Weisskopf – Baen
2012Best Pro ArtistJonas De Ro
Best Animated MovieWreck it Ralph – Disney
Best Fantasy MovieThe Avengers – Disney
Best SF MovieRobot & Frank – Samuel Goldwyn & John Carter – Disney (tie)
Best Horror MovieThe Cabin in the Woods – Lionsgate
Best Fantasy TVOnce Upon a Time – ABC
Best Horror TVSupernatural – CW
Best SF TVDoctor Who – BBC
Best Fantasy AuthorSaladin Ahmed – Throne of the Crescent Moon
Best SF AuthorLois McMaster Bujold – Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance
Best Horror AuthorKarina Halle – On Demon Wings
Best Fan ArtistK. Cherdrumphai
Best Fan WriterJean Lamb
Best FanzineSF Signal
Best Fantasy MovieThe Avengers – Disney
2011Best Fantasy MovieHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2
Best SF MovieContagion – Warner Bros.
Best Super Hero/Comics MovieCaptain America: The First Avenger – Disney
Best SF TVDoctor Who – BBC
Best Horror TVThe Walking Dead – AMC
Best Fantasy TVA Game of Thrones
Best Horror AuthorJim Butcher – Ghost Story
Best SF AuthorChina Miéville – Embassy Town
Best YA SF-F AuthorRansom Riggs – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Best FanzineFile 770 – Mike Glyer
2010Best SF/F AnimationDespicable Me – Universal
Best SF/F AuthorSuzanne Collins – Mockingjay
Best SF/F MovieInception – Warner Bros.
Best SF/F TVDollhouse – FOX
Best FanzineeI – Earl Kemp
2009Best TV AnimationStar Wars: The Clone Wars – TOON
Best Film AnimationAvatar – 20th Century Fox
Best Pro ArtistFrank Frazetta
Best SF AuthorStephen King – Under the Dome
 Best Fantasy AuthorChina Mieville – The City & The City
 Best ComicRobert Kirkman – The Walking Dead – AMC
Best Video GameBatman: Arkham Asylum
Best SF MovieStar Trek – Paramount
Best Fantasy MovieHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Warner Bros.
Best SF TVDoctor Who – BBC
 Best Fantasy TVTrue Blood – HBO
Best Pro ZineWeird Tales
 Best FanzineThe National Fantasy Fan – Heath Row
Fan of the YearPatricia King
2008Best AnimationWall-E
Best SF/F AuthorGreg Bear – City at the End of Time
Best SF/F MovieThe Dark Knight – Warner Bros.
Best SF/F TVTorchwood – BBC
Fan of the YearHeath Row
Best FanzineFAPA
2007Best AnimationRatatouille – Pixar
Best Pro ArtistTom Kidd
Best SF/F AuthorJK Rowling – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Best SF/F MovieThe Golden Compass – New Line
Best SF/F TVSupernatural – CW
Fan of the YearJacqueline Lichtenberg
Best FanzineThe Drink Tank – Chris Garcia
2006Best AnimationTripping the Rift – SCIFI
Best Pro ArtistBoris Vallejo and Julie Bell (tie)
Best Fan ArtistBrad Foster
Best SF/F AuthorNaomi Novik – His Majesty’s Dragon, Throne of Jade, Black Powder War
Best SF/F MoviePan’s Labyrinth – Picture House
Best SF/F TVDoctor Who – BBC
Fan of the YearJoy Beeson
Best FanzineScience Fiction Five-Yearly
2005Best TV AnimationInuyahar
Best Animation – FilmWallace and Grommit: Curse of the Were-Rabbit
Best Pro ArtistMelissa Gay
Best ComicSupergirl
Best Fan ArtistLynn Masamitsu
Best SF AuthorJohn Varley – Mammoth
Best Fan WriterJefferson Swycaffer
Best Fantasy AuthorJ. K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Best ReprintC. S. Lewis – The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
Best Board/RPG GameSerenity RPG
Best Video GameEve Online
Best SF MovieSerenity – Universal
Best Fantasy MovieChronicles of Narnia: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe
Best Classic on DVDWizard of Oz box set
Best SF TVThe 4400 – USA
Best Fantasy TVLost – ABC
Best Pro
Best Print FanzineLocus
Best eZineEmerald City
Fan of the YearHoward DeVore
2004Best AnimationSky Captain and the World of Tomorrow
Best Pro ArtistDonato Giancola
Best Pro AuthorC. J. Cherryh – Forge of Heaven
Best Collector’s Edition (video)Star Wars Trilogy Boxed Set – 20th Century Fox
Best ComicFantastic Four – Marvel
Best GameStar Wars Trading Card Game – Lucasfilm, Wizards of the Coast
Best MovieSpiderman 2 – Columbia
Best Web Site or ReferenceLocus Online
Best Classic ReprintGlory Road – Robert A. Heinlein
Best TVStargate: SG-1 – SCI FI (MGM)
Best Video GameHalo 2 – Bungie Software
Fan Of the YearJanine Stinson
Best FanzineAnsible
Fan Web SiteFanac Fan History Project